Writing Again

I started writing again. After yet another bought of mayhem (My grandfather was sent to the hospital for a heart attack, and my brother went back to the hospital with residual heart problems from his surgery) things have settled down tentatively, and I’ve taken a moment to start working on my book again. There’s so much to say and a million ways to say it. I need wisdom.

I need money too. With summer suddenly here I need a summer job – one that can provide enough money for me to continue pursuing my degree but at the same time won’t prevent me from working on writing my book. I’ve weighed my options and I’m going to try to work some housecleaning jobs and start a tea buisness.

I’m calling it Chai Shai. It’s a phrase I picked up in India – it means, roughly, tea and what goes with it. I’m going to make chais like I learned to make in India and I’m going to sell them. A large, fixed percentage of the profits will go to ministries – like Sarah’s Covenant Home. Supporting ministries is what I like to do most with my money anyway so making it part of company policy just seemed to make the most sense:) I’ve bought a web domain and I’m working now on a website. I scoured my room for pocket change and it looks like just enough for the domain and tea ingredients/tea bags/ packaging. Please pray that the Lord will bless it and that it will bring in the money I need to support these ministries that are so heavy on my heart and pay for my schooling and a plane ticket to see the church that supported me the most while I was in India.

Please also continue to keep the children at Sarah’s Covenant Homes in your prayers, and all the deaf and disabled of India. Pray for their salvation, their provision, their education, their hope. Pray that God will glorify Himself through their lives, and that He will send laborers into that harvest.

You want to see what I’m working on for my book? It’s rough, but I’ll show you a little, and you can tell me what you think:

On a bathroom floor in South India, I came to the end of myself. I just laid there and sobbed. After three weeks in Andhara Pradesh my resources felt tapped. My months and years of preparation seemed to amount to little more than enough Hindi to help us order rice and enough sign language to get me into trouble. I thought I had come to Sarah’s Covenant Home to teach a few deaf children a few signs.

I had no idea.

That’s the beginning of a rough draft… It’ll probably change a hundred times before it’s printed. But that’s a little sneak peak. 😉

What are you up to? What’s your dream right now? What are you writing about? What’s your most recent crazy scheme? 🙂

What do you think about my post? Anything to add? Any related prayer requests? I really want to hear from you. So, please do comment, if you'd like. :)

