Salvation and Bangles

20130407-123847.jpg

The Indian women look at my bangles and smile at me. It’s funny how something as simple as bangles creates a connection. It’s the same with my anklets and punjabis: Looking like them even in these small ways sends a message so clear. It says “I care enough about you to look like you, to be like you, to experience life like you. I love you.”

It makes their eyes light up. And it reminds me of the way that my eyes light up when I realize that my Jesus, my Yisaya, did not come to us as an unrelatable God, but as a human like us.

I receive the message that is oh so clear, “I care enough about you to look like you, to be like you, to experience life like you…. I love you.”

6 thoughts on “Salvation and Bangles

  1. Beautiful thought that Jesus cared enough to be like us. It is often in the simple things we do that help us connect with others. If we focus on what we have in common rather than how we are different, we might just realize we are all very much alike. Blessings!

  2. Yes and a few words spoken in the language of the people you love n respect also fulfills Pauls words to be all things to all men for the sake of HIM.
    People will come up to me and touch an item I am wearing they relate to such as a Berber ring I got.

What do you think about my post? Anything to add? Any related prayer requests? I really want to hear from you. So, please do comment, if you'd like. :)

