Prayers with “Hallowed by Thy Name” Exploding

“You know, you can tell when somebody’s theology is being turned upside down by the way they pray.” Because we just were praying differently. Texts like “hallowed be thy name” were just exploding. That wasn’t a throwaway phrase anymore! “Hallowed be your name” was a request to God to make himself strong in the world and great in our hearts. So I’m asking you, How does your discovery of God affect your praying? … We say, In Jesus’ name I pray, amen. Because that’s the name. On this side of the cross, we know the name. It’s Jesus. God has put his son forward to exalt his own righteousness and preserve his own justice in the saving of sinners, so that when we call down mercy, totally underserved, who are we going to appeal to—ourselves? Nothing works except: For your name’s sake, O Lord. Make your name great in forgiving my sins and using me, broken and imperfect as I am.

– A Holy Ambition

Wow. I will certainly be praying this prayer now. This is the prayer for every missionary, every child of God at home or abroad. Please, pray it with me.

What do you think about my post? Anything to add? Any related prayer requests? I really want to hear from you. So, please do comment, if you'd like. :)

