I’m going to India! (Lord willing)

Forgive me, dear friends for not writing in so long. It’s all been a whirlwind, but a good one with good news: The Lord has provided an opportunity for me to teach sign language to deaf and disabled orphans in India.

Praise God!

I need your prayers, though. Your prayers and your support:)

Here is the letter I’m sending out:

Dear Friends,
In the spring of 2011, the Lord impressed it on my heart to teach sign language to children in India. After two years of praying and working toward that goal, praise God, this is finally a possibility.
As many of you know, sign language has always been a love of mine. I’ve learned it through the years from my Mom; the associate pastor’s wife of one of the church’s we went to, Mrs. Bushnell; and from various books and dvds. I’ve taught some sign language to kids in summer camps and at church since then, and even taught a few signs here and there to the little ones in my full time nannying jobs over the summers. After a year of taking Bible classes from the Master’s College online, I have even been blessed to spend a semester at Maryville College taking Sign Language classes and being very involved in the Sign Language club and deaf community events. Through all of this, the Lord has been faithful to work through me in these things while also using them to prepare me for what He has called me to do in the future.

Now, an amazing opportunity has opened up for me to teach sign language to deaf and disabled children in India. Lord willing, I will be leaving mid-March for Sarah’s Covenant Home, an orphanage of kinds which cares for deaf and disabled children in India. At this donation funded and volunteer staffed Covenant Home, over 100 children with disabilities such as epilepsy, cerebral palsy, brain damage, autism, blindness, and hearing loss are blessed with not only food and clothing but physical therapy, early intervention, nursing care, and special education in a family style environment. What they don’t have right now is someone teaching sign language to help the hearing impaired and mentally and physically disabled better communicate with each other and their caretakers.

This is what’s on my heart: To love and care for these kids by giving them the gift of communication. These children need to communicate, to have a voice, to better learn, and to better express themselves. These children need to feel the love of Jesus in their hands.
Please prayerfully consider ministering to these kids by supporting me to go and reach them. I will need about 1200 dollars for airfare and 1000 dollars for living expenses (primarily housing) for every month I will be staying there. I’m praying that the Lord will provide enough to keep me there for at least three months, which would mean at least 4200 dollars. I know times are tough, especially these past few years and past few months, but even ten dollars here and there adds up. Any support you can give means so much to these orphaned children.

Most of all, please pray for me, please pray for these kids, please pray for the glory of God and the advancement of His kingdom in Sarah’s ministry, in these kids’ lives, in my life, and in the lives of all of those joining in this ministry by donations and by prayer.

Thank you. God bless, Ashlie Ariel

To donate: Go to the bottom of the http://www.cccville.com page and click “GIVING” and fill out the information along with “Ashlie-Ariel India” in the notes. Or send a check to Calvary Chapel Charlottesville with India Ashlie-Ariel in the notes.

To follow me in my preparation for and work in India, please do follow my blog raisinghands.wordpress.com

I’m putting this letter as one of my pages too, for future reference:)

Please praise God with me for this opportunity to serve Him, and continue with me in prayer for His will to be accomplished, His name to be glorified, and His harvest to be taken in:)

Thank you, brothers and sisters.

In Him,

Ashlie Ariel

What do you think about my post? Anything to add? Any related prayer requests? I really want to hear from you. So, please do comment, if you'd like. :)

