one deaf child

At lunch I sat not far from the deaf girl that goes to my college. As I ate my salad I could see her out of the corner of my eye chatting with some people at her table. It fills me with a distinct joy to see her communicate; it fills me with a distinct sadness to know that there is a child somewhere in India who will never know what that feels like. That sadness and that joy urge me on.

I was speaking about sign language to a girl at my table, and I mentioned my shock to find that there were three states in the US that don’t have a deaf school. Her response, though kind, was flippant. “There are hardly any deaf kids there anyway,” she assumed.

But if there was even one child….Even one child has the human right to communicate. I am just one person. You are just one person. But we are each of value – just like that one deaf child. That one child needs words – words to give and to recieve. That deaf girl across the dining hall wouldn’t be here – going to college to become a teacher, to make a life for herself, to pass on knowledge to others – if it weren’t for the deaf school she went to. She is just one girl, but she’s just that – a girl, a human, made by God and filled with unique and meaningful things to contribute to the world.

God forgive us if we do not seek to reach out to every corner of the earth with the message of His Person and His Word. God forgive us if we do not leave the ninety-nine sheep in search of the one sheep that is lost. God give us the passion, the knowledge, the endurance to seek out the deaf and the silent, and give them both ears and a voice.

Sincerely,

A. Ariel

What do you think about my post? Anything to add? Any related prayer requests? I really want to hear from you. So, please do comment, if you'd like. :)

